Interesting…

I just learned that one of my teachers has taught at the translation school in Geneva. We had a little chat about being a translator in Switzerland. The teacher wasn’t all that positive about me being able to find a job without doing another master at the swiss school, but when she learned that I was specializing in medical translation, she became a little bit more postive. Apparently, they don’t teach medical translation as a specialization there.

I haven’t decided yet where I’ll spend the next few years, and I think the main reason is that I feel I can’t make a decision when so many things can change. I know things have been this way for a while now, and I believethe situation won’t change tomorrow. It’s not necessarily a bad thing. I think I can find peace on a daily basis and, in fact, not knowing what the future holds for me is also quite stimulating.

I left Switzerland with the idea that if I’d come back I’d find a job, but now that I had this discussion, I’m not too sure about it. The fear of not being able to leave a country because of a lack of job opportunity is always somewhere in my thoughts, not too far away. But I’ll figure something out. I think I should concentrate on my classes and on regaining the strength I lost these past months. It’ll help me fight for what I want later on.

Oh, by the way, if any anglophone (Steph or anyone else) reading me finds mistakes, please feel free to correct me, I’m asking for it!

~ by Stéphanie K. on January 17, 2008.

2 Responses to “Interesting…”

  1. Overall, I’m quite impressed by your English! The only trouble is in the last paragraph. The “sceptre” thing doesn’t work out in English (a sceptre is something a king carries, I think).

    So… “the prospect of not being able to leave a country because of the lack of job opportunities” — but then you’d have to rework the rest of the paragraph.

  2. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
