Work til you die?

In the past few days, I’ve read articles on the bloggers who died,like this one.

Being someone who’s in between work and studies, I find this situation very scary. I’m probably never going to be a professional blogger, but I wonder: is workaholism becoming the new normal way of working? In the next few years, will we have to choose between a good job and a life?

I know I’m going a bit too far, but think about all the young people who are scared of what’ll happen when they finish their studies. Don’t you think it’s getting even scarier? What happens if you’re not too good with stress management? What if you see work as one part of your life, but not the central part?

In the first years, new employees have to adapt to their job, that’s for sure. They usually work a lot, and put other aspects of their life aside. I think it’s normal. I’m ready for that. And I’m not saying we shouldn’t work hard in any situation. But what if you end up trapped and can’t adapt work to your life at all?

Many people say that one way to go is to become a freelance. No, you don’t have a boss to tell you what you have to do. Yes, you can have your own schedule. But it’s not less stressful, and if your clients expect you to work like a maniac, does it make any difference?

I know my point of view isn’t very realistic, but I just think it’s important to talk about how scary the future can be.

~ by Stéphanie K. on April 8, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
