Name

I still don’t like to put my full name on the Internet, because I know how rare it is. I doubt there is another person on this planet who has the same name as me. (You never know, I could be surprise, but that’s not the point.)

I don’t know what to do with that fear or “uncomfortableness” though. Would I really feel more comfortable if we were thousands of women having the exact same name?

If you read my previous post, you probably think that I make no sense. Why use my blog to send messages to the whole world, but feel uncomfortable signing them?

~ by Stéphanie K. on May 28, 2008.

3 Responses to “Name”

  1. I believe that I’m the only “Anders Conbere” on the internet (possible in grander scales). My great great grandfather made up the name Conbere, and in my research I have found no record of the name anywhere else. A google search for Conbere returns only members of my family😀

  2. As we are 5 “Hervé” BOURDON” viewable on the web, using my real name should have been comfortable… but I didn’t feel like that as I started to post or comment on the web.
    Using a pseudo is a kind of mask, a “branding” in a certain way.
    The most funny is that in the “virtual” world, after a few months, your pseudo is exactly the same as a real name, linked to a place, habits, friends, job, opinion, etc.
    So, there was a short way, making the name things simple, I haven’t taken. It does not matter at all finally.

  3. Anders: It’s funny how someone can make up their own name. In Quebec, when people immigrated, their name would often change. Some of the names now come from what the ancestors did as a living. I like L’Amoureux, which means “the one who’s in love” or “the lover” (in a romantic way). So how do you feel about using your real name?

    Valvert: 5 other people is not a lot, mind you. You do have a very interesting point when you say that in the virtual world, a pseudo is the same as a name. I never thought of that in such a way. But I guess the virtual world is still less frightening, because we think we can hide somewhere, and it won’t affect reality.

Leave a Reply

 
