The calls

“Poppa would talk to me about how there were just certain places that we are called to, all over and around the world. You can’t explain it, but you just feel for whatever reason that you have access. You know when you’re comfortable walking down those streets and knowing you’re not going to get mugged. The place knows the codes that you carry. And your codes know the place instinctively.” Tori Amos, Toris Amos, Piece by Piece

This was the first time I read about the intense feeling I’ve had and still have for Montreal, of course, but also London and, more recently Australia. Although I’ve never been down under, that country’s calling my name, I hear it whisper in my sleep. I don’t think these calls all have to be answered. Montreal was my first love, I don’t want to cheat on her, but every relationship is different, right? And having loved once doesn’t mean you can’t love again.

~ by Stéphanie K. on March 4, 2009.

5 Responses to “The calls”

  1. Feeling the same for my natal country Lebanon🙂 but I know deep inside also when some cities don’t call me ^^ I’m talking about Paris, going there but knowing “deep inside” that will not be as fun as Lille😦 Feeling no freedom spirit back there, will have to find some harmony🙂 A new challenge, love this! Will do my best!

  2. Yes, we know when cities aren’t right for us either. I’m still ambivalent as far as Switzerland is concerned. But I also know that we have the ability to feel home anywhere, we just have to find the right way to access this homey place deep inside us.

    I’m sure you’ll find the harmony, and Lille is not too far, in case you need to get in touch with it once again.😀

    I might come and visit you in Paris!;)

    I wish you all the best!

  3. That’s the best of it : the fact that I will not too far from Lille🙂
    And I will be glad to see you there🙂 I may also pass near your city, I have family back there in Switzerland

  4. I suspect that a lot of your good feelings about places are generated by your ability to adapt to different environments and to soak up their atmospheres in an open way.

  5. Orchideane: just tell me when you do, and we’ll organize something.🙂

    Vivdora: The calls have always come before I actually go to these places, so maybe I can soak up the atmospheres from abroad, but I generally compare the feeling I’ve had before to what I experience once there. And being open and adapting quickly certainly heps! I also tend to be feel comfortable in English-speaking areas, or North America (Québec is a very unique place in North America.)
    Do you live close to London?

Leave a Reply

 
